- About the Collection
- Maynard A. Amerine Room
- Location of the Collection
- Pathfinders & Checklists
- Basic Current Books
- Points of contact
- Use the
- Connect From Off Campus
- My Account/Renew Books
- Activate your Library Card
- For Faculty and Graduate Students
- For Undergraduate Students
- Copyright & Intellectual Property
- Scholarly Communication
Subject Guide to Catalogs, Databases & Print Indexes for Viticulture & Enology
This guide is intended for users of the Viticulture and Enology Collection at Shields Library, however many of these resources are available elsewhere in the same or similar form. Consult with your own librarian for further information or contact Axel E. Borg, Wine Bibliographer, email@example.com. Access to the databases (via the subject guides below) is restricted to students, faculty and staff at the University of California.
UC Davis Library provides access to two UC library catalogs: Harvest and Melvyl. The catalogs contain records for print and electronic holdings: books, periodical and journal titles, musical scores, maps, government documents, online resources, etc. Note: Use electronic databases to locate journal articles.
Search for Journal Articles via Subject Guides to Electronic Databases
- Viticulture & Enology Subject Guide
- The V&E Subject Guide provides access to subject specific and general databases for searching the indexed literature (journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, etc.). The databases include Agricola, CAB Abstracts, Food Science & Technology Abstracts, BIOSIS Previews, SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts).
- Biological & Agricultural Sciences Subject Guides
- For interdisciplinary subject access to Biological & Agricultural Sciences databases, see the 20 subject guides.
- All Subject Guides
- Access the databases via the 90 subject guides covering all disciplines
- Vitis: Viticulture and Enology Abstracts (1984-2002)
Vitis was issued quarterly until 2002, with each issue containing citations to over one hundred articles, covering both viticulture and enology subject areas. Each of the citations is abstracted and is arranged within 12 general subject groups. The subject groups are listed on the back cover of each issue. The last issue of the year contains a cumulative author and subject index. The annual subject index utilizes over three hundred primary subject terms and includes geographic terms i.e. country names. The annual index refers back to the citation and abstract in the section, issue and volume in which it first appeared.
Library has: v. 23, no.1- (Mar. 1984)-v. 41, no. 3/4 (Dec. 2002) SB 387. V65 Bio/Ag Ref Precursor to Vitis: access to earlier material (1961-1983) can be found in a section of Vitis: Berichte uber Rebenforschung, called Dokumentation der Weinbauforschung Location: Shields Library, Third Floor, call number SB 387. V64