Collections & Resources
- Medical
- Consumer Health
- Veterinary Medical
- Consumer Veterinary Medical
- General Reference Resources
- Electronic Texts
- Useful Links and Services for UC Medical Researchers
How to Connect
Find Articles
Find Books, Journals ...
- At UCD: Harvest
- At UC: Next-Generation Melvyl (http://ucdavis.worldcat.org)
- Electronic Journals A-Z
- Electronic Books A-Z
Request Materials:
UCD Health Links
Tutorials, Guides & Instructional Resources
BIOSIS Previews and Web of Science
- ISI BIOSIS Quick Reference Card (http://scientific.thomson.com/media/biosispdfs/qrc/BIOSIS_on_WoK_QRC.pdf)PDF [ISI]
- ISI BIOSIS Quick Search Guide (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/isi-biosisquickguide.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- ISI BIOSIS Tutorial Movie (http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/BIOS/media/#biosis) [UCB]
- Web of Knowledge Tutorial Movie (http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/BIOS/media/#wos) [UCB]
- Web of Science Cited Reference Search (http://www.scientific.thomson.com/media/scpdf/wos7_tips_cit.pdf) [ISI]
- Web of Science General Search (http://www.scientific.thomson.com/media/scpdf/wos7_tips_gen.pdf)PDF [ISI]
- Web of Science Marking, Printing, Emailing & Saving Records (http://www.scientific.thomson.com/media/scpdf/wos7_tips_mark.pdf)PDF [ISI]
- Web of Science Online Tutorial (http://thomsonscientific.com/tutorials/wos7/) [ISI]
- Web of Science Quick Reference Card (http://scientific.thomson.com/media/scpdf/wos7_0805_qrc.pdf)PDF [ISI]
- Web of Science Saving Histories & Creating Alerts (http://www.scientific.thomson.com/media/scpdf/wos7_tips_hist.pdf)PDF [ISI]
CAB Abstracts and Agricola
- CAB Abstracts Tutorial (http://www.ovid.com/site/help/tutorials/cabi.html) [Ovid]
- CAB Abstracts via SilverPlatter (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/cabviasp5.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- CAB Abstracts Quick Reference Card (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/cabqrcv5.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- UCD Agricola Searching Guide (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/agricolaviasp5.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- User's Manual for SilverPlatter (CAB Abstracts and Agricola) (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/webspirs501usersmanual.pdf)PDF [Ovid]
CAM - Complimentary and Alternative Medicine
- NIH National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (http://nccam.hih.gov/)
- Select Complimentary and Alternative Medicine Books (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/selectedcambks.pdf)PDF [UCD]
Cancer Databases
- CancerNet-UK (http://www.cancernet.co.uk/)
- Comprehensive Cancer Information (http://www.cancer.gov/) [NCI]
- PDQ: Physician Data Query (http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/) [NCI]
- Clinical Trials Database Users Guide (http://jncicancerspectrum.oxfordjournals.org/databases/pdq/users_guide.dtl) [NCI]
- Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program (http://seer.cancer.gov/) [NCI]
Citing Resources
- Citing Electronic and Print Resources (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/instruc/research/cites.php) [UCD]
Clinical Trials Databases
- ClinicalTrials.Gov (http://clinicaltrials.gov/) [NIH]
- Searching ClinicalTrials.gov (http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/techbull/so00/so00_clinicaltrials_js.html) [NLM]
The Cochrane Library
- Cochrane Library Tutorial [Microsoft PowerPoint (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/cochranelibrary.ppt)] [PDF (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/cochranelibrary.pdf)] [UCD]
- Quick Reference Guide (http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/homepages/106568753/QuickRef.pdf)PDF [The Cochrane Library]
Connecting from Off Campus
- Connecting to Licensed Library Resources and Course Reserves from Off Campus (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/ul/services/connect/) [UCD]
- IT Express - The Computing Help Desk (http://itexpress.ucdavis.edu/) [UCD]
- HSL Wireless Guide (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/wirelessguide.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- Health Sciences Libraries Kerberos Guide (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/hsllkerberos.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- Using the CRC to Access Library Resources (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/accesslibresourcesviacrc.pdf)PDF [UCD]
EndNote
- EndNote X Tip Sheets (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/endnote10tipsheets.pdf)PDF [ISI]
- EndNote X Guided Tour (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/endnote10guidedtour.pdf)PDF [ISI]
- EndNote X Tutorial (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/endnote10tutorial.pdf)PDF [ISI]
- EndNote and UC-eLinks Instruction Guide (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/endnoteucelinks.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- EndNote Filters at UC Davis: Windows (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/instruc/research/endnote/filters-win.php) / Macintosh (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/instruc/research/endnote/filters-mac.php) [UCD]
- EndNote Tutorial Movie (http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/BIOS/media/#endnote) [UCB]
- Using EndNote at UC Davis (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/instruc/research/endnote/) [UCD]
- Compare EndNote, Reference Manager, ProCite (http://thomsonisiresearchsoft.com/compare/) [ISI]
Evidence Based Medicine
- Cochrane Library Quick Reference Guide (http://www.update-software.com/cochrane/userGuide.pdf)PDF [The Cochrane Library]
- Cochrane Library Tutorial [Microsoft PowerPoint (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/cochranelibrary.ppt)] [PDF (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/cochranelibrary.pdf)] [UCD]
- EBM Medical SumSearch Database (http://sumsearch.uthscsa.edu/) [University of Texas]
- Epidemiology & EBM Sources for Veterinarians (http://www.vetmed.wsu.edu/courses-jmgay/epilinks.htm) [Washington State University]
- EpiVetNet - EBM for Epidemiologists (http://www.vetschools.co.uk/EpiVetNet/evidence_based_medicine.htm) [University of London]
- Evidence Based Medicine Resources (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/ebmresources.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- Veterinary Evidence Based Medicine Links (http://vein.library.usyd.edu.au/links/ebm.html) [University of Sydney]
Handouts
- Free Medical Databases on the Web Handout (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/freemedicaldatabases.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- Free Veterinary Databases on the Web Handout (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/freeveterinarydatabases.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- How to Get an Article or a Book Using the UC Davis Library System (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/getanarticleorbook.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- HSL HouseCalls Request Form (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/housecalls.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- Selected Complimentary and Alternative Medicine Books (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/selectedcambks.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- Selected Reference Sources at the Health Sciences Library (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/refsources.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- UCD Databases of Special Interest to Veterinary Researchers (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/vetresearchersdbs.pdf)
Library Catalogs
- Finding Journal Articles (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/ul/help/findarticles.php) [UCD]
- Harvest Basic Search Guide (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/ul/help/harvestbasic.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- Harvest Getting Started & Help Pages (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/ul/help/harvest/)
- HSL Getting Started Tips (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/hslgettingstartedtips.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- Melvyl Basic Search Guide (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/instruc/files/melvylbasic0905.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- Melvyl Advanced Guide (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/instruc/files/melvyladvanced0905.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- Melvyl Help Pages (http://melvyl.cdlib.org/F/?func=file&file_name=help-1) [UCOP]
- Melvyl Personalized Guide (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/melvylpersonalizedguide.pdf)PDF [UCD]
NCBI Databases
- Entrez: Help Document (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query/static/help/helpdoc.html) [NCBI]
- GenBank Overview (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Genbank/GenbankOverview.html) [NCBI]
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/) [NCBI]
- National Center for Biotechnology Information: BLAST information guide & tutorials (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Education/BLASTinfo/information3.html) [NCBI]
- Searching GenBank (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Genbank/GenbankSearch.html) [NCBI]
PubMed
- PubMed Basics Searching Guide (http://nnlm.gov/nnlm/online/pubmed/pmtri.pdf)PDF (Trifold) [NLM]
- PubMed Central Links Added to PubMed (http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/techbull/so00/so00_pmc.html) [NLM]
- PubMed FAQs (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query/static/faq.html) [NCBI]
- PubMed Guide for Veterinarians (http://www.lib.vt.edu/services/branches/vetmed/VMLS/VMLS PubMed brochure.pdf)PDF (Trifold) [MLA-VMLS]
- PubMed's Icons Explained (http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/techbull/jf03/jf03_icons.html) [NLM]
- PubMed and National Library of Medicine Training Manuals (http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/web_based.html) [NLM]
- PubMed Overview (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query/static/overview.html) [NCBI]
- PubMed Tutorial (http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html) [NLM]
- PubMed Tutorial Movies (Includes Using It with EndNote & RefWorks) (http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/BIOS/media/#pubmed) [UCB] - click on PubMed
- Quick Tours (Videos) - Distance Education Program Resources (http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/dist_edu.html) [NLM]
- Requesting PubMed Articles (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/requestpubmedarticles.pdf)PDF [UCD]
Toxicology and Environmental Health Databases
- Environmental Health and Toxicology Databases (http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro.html) [NLM]
- Introducing the New TOXNET (http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/help/TOXNEThelp.htm) [NLM]
UC-eLinks
- Getting Started with UC-eLinks (http://www.cdlib.org/inside/instruct/uc-elinks/) [UCD]
- Tutorial Movies (http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/BIOS/media/) [UCB]
Veterinary Instructional Guides
- Agricola Searching Guide (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/agricolaviasp5.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- BiblioLine Quick Guides for Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide (http://biblioline.nisc.com/help/GeneralMaster/QuickGuideMaster/eng/quickguides.htm) [BiblioLine]
- CAB Abstracts Quick Reference Card (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/cabqrcv5.pdf)PDF [Ovid]
- CAB Abstracts via SilverPlatter (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/cabviasp5.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- CAB Abstracts Tutorial (http://www.ovid.com/site/help/tutorials/cabi.html) [Ovid]
- Indexes and Abstracts (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/indexesbstracts.pdf)PDF [UCD]
- User's Manual for SilverPlatter (CAB Abstracts and Agricola) (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/hsl/files/webspirs501usersmanual.pdf)PDF [Ovid]
- Using BiblioLine: A Tutorial (To Access Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide) (http://biblioline.nisc.com/help/GeneralMaster/TutorialMaster/eng/contents-p1.html) [BiblioLine]
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide Database Guides & Tutorials
- BiblioLine Quick Guides for Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide (http://biblioline.nisc.com/help/GeneralMaster/QuickGuideMaster/eng/quickguides.htm) [BiblioLine]
- Using BiblioLine: A Tutorial (To Access Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide) (http://biblioline.nisc.com/help/GeneralMaster/TutorialMaster/eng/contents-p1.html) [BiblioLine]
For information about handouts on this page: contact a Reference Librarian




