Humanities & Social Sciences
Fashion, Costume and Textiles Subject Guide

Contact

Marcia Meister, Clothing and Fashion Design Librarian (mlmeister@ucdavis.edu)

Reference Books for Fashion, Costume and Textiles in Shields Library

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion (3-volume set)
HSSGIS Reference GT507 .E53 2005
Cambridge History of Western Textiles (2-volume set)
HSSGIS Reference NK8906 .C36 2003
Clothing and Textile Arts Index (1970-1993)
HSSGIS Reference TT507 .C61
Clothing and Textile Collections in the United States (2006)
HSSGIS Reference GT605.C56 2006
Textile Arts Index, 1950-1987: selected weaving, spinning, dyeing, knitting, fiber periodicals
HSSGIS Reference NK8804 .W56 1988 [2nd copy available in circulating collection]
Encyclopedia of Hair: A Cultural History
HSSGIS Reference TT957 .S46 2006
Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture
See v.2, p.605-647 for essay & bibliography on American fashion history.
HSSGIS Reference E169.1 .H2643 2002
Fashion and Costume in American Popular Culture: A Reference Guide (1996)
HSSGIS Reference Z5694 .U5045
Arts & Humanities Through the Eras
5 volume set covering Ancient Egypt through the Enlightenment. Each volume has a section on fashion.
HSSGIS Reference NX440.A787 2005
American Decades
Covers 1900-1989; see also the American Eras volumes for 1600-1899.
HSSGIS Reference E169.12 .A419 1994
Contemporary Fashion
HSSGIS Reference TT505 .A1 C66 2002
The Complete Fashion Sourcebook
HSSGIS Reference GT596 .P393 2005
Fashion Since 1900: The Complete Sourcebook.
HSSGIS Reference GT596 .P439 2007
Reference Book of Women's Vintage Clothing, 1900-1919
HSSGIS Reference GT615 .L3 1990
Reference Book of Women's Vintage Clothing, 1920-1929
HSSGIS Reference GT615 .L33 1994
Reference Book of Women's Vintage Clothing, 1930-1939
HSSGIS Reference GT615 .L34 1999
Contemporary Youth Culture: an International Encyclopedia
HSSGIS Reference HQ796 .C8154 2006
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life: A Tour through History from Ancient Times to the Present (6 volumes)
HSSGIS Reference GT31 .G74 2004
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers (1998)
HSSGIS Reference GT507 .O53
Fairchild Dictionary of Fashion (3rd edition)
HSSGIS Reference TT503 .C34 2003
Fairchild's Dictionary of Textiles (7th edition)
HSSGIS Reference TS1309 .F34 1996 [6th edition in Bio/Ag Reference TS1309.F34 1979]
Garment and Textile Dictionary
HSSGIS Reference TT494 .C66 1997
Textile Terms and Definitions
Bio/Ag Reference TS1309 .T47 1995
Textile dictionary: English/American, French, German, Spanish.
Bio/Ag Reference TS1309 .T46
St. James Fashion Encyclopedia: Survey of Style from 1945 to the Present (1997)
HSSGIS Reference TT505 .A1S7
Ethnic Dress
HSSGIS Reference GT511 .K46 1995
5000 Years of Textiles
HSSGIS Reference NK8806 .T45 1993b
International Directory of Historical Clothing (1967)
HSSGIS Reference NK4700 .H8
Textiles of Southeast Asia: An Annotated and Illustrated Bibliography
HSSGIS Reference TS1413 .S6 H68 1994
Davison's Textile Blue Book
HSSGIS Reference NK7310 .P42 2002
20th Century Jewelry: The Complete Sourcebook
HSSGIS Reference NK7310 .P42 2002
Bibliography of Costume: A Dictionary Catalog of About Eight Thousand Books and Periodicals (1939)
HSSGIS Reference Z5691 .H64
Theatrical Costume, Masks, Make-up and Wigs: a Bibliography and Iconography (2000)
HSSGIS Reference PN2067 .J68 2000
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion: From 1066 to the Present (1994)
HSSGIS Reference GT720 .C37
A History of Fashion: a Visual Survey of Costume from Ancient Times (1993)
HSSGIS Reference GT585 .G67 1993
Costume Index (plus supplement): a subject index to plates and to illustrated text (1936)
HSSGIS Reference Z5691 .M6
Encyclopedia of World Costume (1978)
HSSGIS Reference GT507 .Y37
The Visual History of Costume (1989)
HSSGIS Reference GT733 .V57
The Costume Timeline: 5000 Years of Fashion History (1993)
HSSGIS Reference GT513 .M85
International Bibliography of Theatre (1982-1999)
Published in yearly volumes; check in Subject Index under "Costuming" for compiled article listings, or under individual plays.
HSSGIS Reference PN1561 .I53
Theatre and Allied Arts: A Guide to Books Dealing with the History, Criticism, and Technic of the Drama and Theatre (1952)
Costume Section from p. 314-360
HSSGIS Reference Z5781 .B31

Internet Resources in Fashion Costume and Textiles

Image Collections

Arts and Humanities Data Service: AHDS login Page
This British site offers twenty substantial image collections including: the London College of Fashion: College Archive; the London College of Fashion: Cordwainers Shoe Collection; the London College of Fashion: The Woolmark Company. Login (required) is free.
Peru Image Collection: Illustrations of Artifact Categories Subject to U.S. Import Restriction
A database of Pre-Columbian Peruvian artifacts created to illustrate the kinds of items it is illegal to import, it includes 50 images of Textiles.
Index of American Design
The Index of American Design consists of approximately 18,000 watercolor renderings of American decorative art objects from the colonial period through the nineteenth century. Categories include costume and textiles. A brief description of each item is also provided.
Bissonnette on Costume: A Visual Dictionary of Fashion
A large collection of photographs and other images representative of the history of clothing and fashion around the world. Organized and searchable by geography, chronology and topic.
Textiles & Apparel: Cornell Costume Collection
The Cornell Costume Collection "includes more than 9,000 items of apparel dating from the eighteenth century to the present, as well as a substantial collection of ethnographic textiles and costume." This website includes a searchable catalog of items in the collection (some include images) as well as an on-line gallery of Collection highlights. Some items in the Gallery have 360 degree views.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
There are several good collections of historical and international fashion and costume in this searchable online gallery.
Peer Reviewed Online History of Photography: Fashion Photography Page
Includes brief history and images of major fashion photographers' work from various periods.
The IMAGE Project, San Jose State
Click on "Browse Collections," then "Daily Life and Material Culture" in order to browse fashion images. Includes clothing, jewelry, accessories, and shoes.

Pathfinders

The Costume Page
An extensive list of hundreds of links for all aspects of costume including history, museums, world-wide ethnic costumes, theatrical costumes, and information on making costumes.
Textile links: history
A pathfinder page of links to Textiles history. Oriented toward artisans and craftspeople rather than the industry.
Textile Links: Historical Sites and Museums
A page of links to Museums with textile collections. Oriented toward artisans and craftspeople rather than the industry.
The Costumer's Manifesto: Western Costume History by Period
This is an extensive pathfinder page covering time periods ranging from prehistory to the 21st century.
Fashion and Textile Design: Useful Websites
A pathfinder page with separate sections on Shops, Designers, Museums, Image Web sites, and more.

Theater and Movie Costumes

The Costumer's Manifesto: Theatre Costume and Theatre Links
Links organized topically.
Men with Big Hair; The Costume Movie Link Pages
A large pathfinder page with links organized by genre and by the time period represented in the movie.
Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design
From the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, this image collection of original costuming designs is from a range of productions in England and the United States. The Motley Group designs are from 1932 to 1976 for plays by Shakespeare and modern classics, opera, ballet, and motion pictures.
Costume Design for the Theater (MIT OpenCourseWare)
Course website for MIT design class, including basic study materials and student project sketches.

Old Fashion Magazines Online

Godey's Lady's Book Online
This important journal from the 19th century discusses fashion and provides poems, fiction and advice.
Fashion Plate Collection: The Costume Movie Link Pages
A collection of 417 images from nineteenth-century fashion journals (1806-1914), organized by stylistic period and also searchable.
The Regency Fashion Page
A collection of images from European Fashion Magazines from the 18th and 19th centuries is the main part of this site. It is supplemented with images of clothing in collections and contextual information about the time period.
Ling Lung Women's Magazine: Shanghai, 1931 to 1937
A collection of 417 images from nineteenth-century fashion journals (1806-1914), organized by stylistic period and also searchable.

Clothing and Textile Industry Links

International Textile and Apparel Association
An important site for people interested in fiber, textile and apparel information. Includes graduate educational listings by state, calls and competitions, and subject matter links (e.g., apparel design, textiles, field study opportunities). The ITAA is a global organization of textile and apparel scholars.
Fashion.net: The Online Fashion Guide
Pathinder page to many aspects of the Fashion Industry.
The Regency Fashion Page
This site is a guide to the fashion industry in India. In addition to providing links to the all aspects of the modern industry, it includes a section on the history of fashion in India.
FirstVIEW
Photographs of international fashion shows. Many are free, but the most recent are accessible only with paid subscriptions.
Between a Rock and a Hard Place: A History of American Sweatshops, 1820-Present
This is the website for an exhibit at the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History. Focused on the raid of a California sweatshop in 1995, it is a good starting point to explore the global fashion industry as well as the history of American sweatshops.
Virtual Garment Center
A site for the international garment industry. It includes a searchable database of international companies, as well as a "virtual market" bulletin board for discussion among its members of garments available/garments wanted.
Behind the Label
An on-line magazine and web site devoted to the workers in the global clothing industry.

Shoes

Solemates: The Century in Shoes
A browsable decade by decade tour of 20th century fashions in shoes. Selective and illustrative rather than comprehensive.
The Bata Shoe Museum
A nice illustrated overview to shoe history.
Cordwainers Shoe Collection: Arts and Humanities Data Service
This British site offers twenty substantial image collections including the Cordwainers Shoe Collection. Login (required) is free.

Search the Library Catalog for Books on Fashion, Costume and Textiles with These Subject Headings

  • Art -- Handbooks, manuals etc.
  • Beauty Personal
  • Beauty personal -- blacks
  • Beauty personal -- psychological aspects
  • Body image
  • Body image -- adolescence
  • Body image -- cross cultural studies
  • Body image disturbance
  • Body image in men
  • Body image in women
  • Clothing -- cold weather
  • Clothing and dress
  • Clothing and dress -- religious aspects
  • Clothing and dress -- social aspects
  • Clothing care labels
  • Clothing factories
  • Clothing trade
  • Clothing workers
  • Collective bargaining -- clothing industry
  • Consumption (economics)
  • Consumption (economics) -- History
  • Consumption (economics) -- social aspects
  • Consumption (economics) -- United States
  • Costume
  • Costume -- Asia
  • Costume -- bibliography
  • Costume -- religious aspects
  • Costume -- moral and ethical aspects
  • Costume -- pictorial works
  • Costume -- political aspects
  • Costume -- psychological aspects
  • Costume -- sex differences
  • Costume -- social aspects
  • Costume -- symbolic aspects
  • Costume -- United States
  • Costume and civilization
  • Costume Design
  • Costume designers
  • Costume design -- history
  • Costume design -- pictorial works
  • Costume history -- 19th century
  • Costume history -- 20th century
  • Costume history -- medieval 500-1500
  • Costume in art
  • Costume in literature
  • Costume jewelry
  • Costumes
  • Culture -- economic aspects
  • Decoration and ornament
  • Design--social aspects
  • Dress accessories
  • Dressmaking
  • Dressmaking -- Patterns
  • Ethnic costume
  • Export marketing
  • Fashion and art
  • Fashion designers
  • Garment cutting
  • Hair -- Social Aspects
  • Hairdressing
  • Hairdressing of African Americans
  • Hairdressing of Blacks
  • Hairstyles
  • Hat Trade
  • Hats
  • Headgear
  • Home economics
  • Jewelry
  • Jewelry, ancient
  • Knitting
  • Men's clothing
  • Millinery
  • Millinery workers
  • Pattern books
  • Pleats (sewing)
  • Sewing
  • Sewing
  • Shawls
  • Shoes
  • Sweatshops
  • Tailoring (women's)
  • Tailoring -- Pattern design
  • Tailors
  • Textile fabrics
  • Textile industry
  • Textile printing
  • Textiles
  • Underwear
  • Uniforms
  • Wearable art
  • Wigs
  • Women clothing workers
  • Women consumers
  • Women designers
  • Women fashion designers
  • Women's clothing industry