Humanities & Social Sciences
Print Resources in Linguistics
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Concise Encyclopedia of Syntactic Theories
- Edited by Keith Brown and Jim Miller. New York: Pergamon, 1996.
- HSSGIS Reference, P291 C575 1996
- Detailed definitions of fifty-three concepts in grammar (e.g., typology and grammar). Includes a
bibliography for each entry as well as a glossary, name and subject indexes.
- The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language (2nd Edition)
- David Crystal. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1997.
- HSSGIS Reference, P29 C64 1997
- This classic work has eleven major sections including "Popular ideas about language" and "The
medium of language." Also includes numerous illustrations, suggestions for further reading, a
bibliography, glossary, and several indexes.
- Concise Encyclopedia of Grammatical Categories
- Edited by Keith Brown and Jim Miller. New York: Elsevier, 1999.
- HSSGIS Reference, P240.5 C66 1999
- Contains extended discussion of eighty concepts or categories including "Converb", "Genericity",
and "Transitivity". Includes glossary, name and subject indexes.
- Concise Encyclopedia of Philosophy of Language
- Edited by Peter V. Lamarque. New York: Pergamon, 1997.
- HSSGIS Reference, P106 C5946 1997
- Provides discussion of concepts under nine major headings such as "Truth and Meaning" and
"Language, Metaphysics, and Ontology". Includes subject and name indexes.
- Concise Encyclopedia of Pragmatics
- Edited by Jacob L. Mey. New York: Elsevier, 1998.
- HSSGIS Reference, P99.4 P72 C62 1998
- In addition to a large number of terms, this encyclopedia also gives brief biographical information
on thirty-five well-known scholars. Includes detailed subject index.
- Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics
- Edited by Rajend Mesthrie. Amsterdam, New York : Elsevier, 2001.
- HSSGIS Reference, P40 .C564 2001
- The Dictionary of Historical and Comparative Linguistics
- Edited by R. L. Trask. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2000.
- HSSGIS Reference, P143 T727 2000
- Provides definitions of terminology in classical historical linguistics with special emphasis on
Indo-European studies, as well as laws, sociolinguistic terms and recent words in the discipline. A
good reference list is also present.
- Dictionary of Languages: The Definitive Reference to More Than 400 Languages
- Andrew Dalby. London: Bloomsbury, 1998.
- HSSGIS Reference, P29 D35 1998
- An attractive book providing number of speakers, a map, a history and distribution of the
language as well as a small representative sample for most of the four hundred languages
included. A good reference for many harder to find languages.
- A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics (4th Edition)
- David Crystal. Cambridge, Mass.: Blackwell, 1997.
- HSSGIS Reference, P29 C65 1997
- Provides a wide range of terms in linguistics with good referrals to other terms and concepts. A
good place to start for a beginning student.
- A Dictionary of Phonetics and Phonology
- R.L. Trask. New York: Routledge, 1996.
- HSSGIS Reference, P216 T73 1996
- Contains over 2,000 terms including pronunciation, earliest sources of terms and a good list of
- Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Linguistics: A Handbook for Language Teaching
- Edited by Keith Johnson and Helen Johnson. Cambridge, Mass.: Blackwell Publishers, 1998.
- HSSGIS Reference, P129 E53 1998
- Includes over 300 entries especially aimed at the needs of people in applied linguistics as it
relates to foreign language and secondary education teaching and learning. A short bibliography
accompanies each entry.
- An Encyclopedia of Language
- Edited by N.E. Collinge. New York: Routledge, 1990.
- HSSGIS Reference, P106 A46 1990
- A Collection of 26 substantial essays under three major categories: the inner nature of language,
language in society, and special aspects of language (i.e., writing-systems, and lexicography).
Includes good bibliographical listings.
- The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
- Edited by R.E. Asher. New York: Pergamon Press, 1994.
- HSSGIS Reference, P29 E48 1994
- The major encyclopedic source in ten volumes. Linguistic and language terms and concepts,
countries and their language situations, and famous scholars are just some of the areas that are
included. An excellent source to consult for most in-depth questions.
- Ethnologue: Languages of the World (12th Edition)
- Edited by Barbara F. Grimes. Dallas, TX: Summer Institute of Linguistics, 1992.
- HSSGIS Reference, P371 E83 1992
- A very detailed listing, with maps, of languages and dialects spoken throughout the world. In
addition to location, number of speakers and linguistic affiliation are given. (Available online at
- The Handbook of Historical Linguistics
- Edited by Brian D. Joseph and Richard D. Janda. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2003.
- HSSGIS Reference, P140 .H35 2003
- The Handbook of Language and Gender
- Edited by Janet Homes and Miriam Meyerhoff. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2003.
- HSSGIS Reference, P120.S48 H36 2003
- The Handbook of Second Language Acquisition
- Edited by Catherine J. Doughty and Michael H. Long Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2003.
- HSSGIS Reference, P118.2 .H363 2003
- International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
- Edited by William Bright New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.
- HSSGIS Reference, P29 I58 1992
- A four-volume set which seeks to provide information on the full range of linguistics including
comparative, historical, functionalist and formalist specialties. Also discusses specific languages
(e.g., Aramaic, Arawakan languages) and provides a short bibliography at the end of each entry.
(2004 edition should be purchased.)
- Key Concepts in Language and Linguistics
- R.L. Trask. London; New York: Routledge, 1999.
- HSSGIS Reference, P29 .T687 1999
- The Linguistics Encyclopedia
- Edited by Kirsten Malmkjaer. London; New York: Routledge, 2002.
- HSSGIS Reference, P29 .L52 2002
- Linguistics: A Guide to the Reference Literature
- Anna L. DeMiller. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1991.
- HSSGIS Reference, P121 D42 1991
- Longman Dictionary of Applied Linguistics
- Jack Richards, John Platt, Heidi Weber. Harlow, England: Longman, 1985.
- HSSGIS Reference, P129 .R5 1985
- The Penguin Dictionary of Language (2nd Edition)
- David Crystal, 2nd Edition. London: Penguin, 1999.
- HSSGIS Reference, P29 C68 1999
- Briefly defines language terms and gives brief information on major languages of the world
(including number of speakers). A good general linguistic reference for a home library.
- Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics
- Hadumod Bussmann. New York : Routledge, 1996.
- HSSGIS Reference, P29 B875 1996
- Contains longer definitions and examples for over 2,000 words. Includes good cross-referencing
and one or more references for each term.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies
- Edited by Mona Baker. New York: Routledge, 1998.
- HSSGIS Reference, P306 R68 1998
- This work is divided into two sections: General and History and Traditions. The first section
includes clear definitions for over eighty terms such as "Poetry translation" and "Decision making
in translation". Part Two includes translation traditions in over thirty countries including the U.S.,
China, and Latin America. Includes good bibliography and index.