help button Ask For Help
------
------

Physical Sciences & Engineering Library

Databases

IP address restrictions and/or special passwording may apply. For further assistance, contact a Reference Desk or use the Technical Support Request form.

HARVEST: UC Davis Library Catalog
CONNECT (http://harvest.lib.ucdavis.edu/) The catalog for UCD library materials (excluding Law and departmental libraries). Features include: books and journals in one catalog, current receipts of journals, call number searching and limiting by location.
Melvyl Catalog
CONNECT GUIDE Contains records for materials (books, journals, movies, maps, music scores and recordings, computer files, dissertations, government documents, etc.) held by the libraries of the nine UC campuses, Hastings College of the Law, the California Academy of Sciences, the California Historical Society, the Center for Research Libraries, the Graduate Theological Union, and the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.
MySearchSpace
CONNECT Searches Harvest: UC Davis Library Catalog, Melvyl Catalog and a number of article databases using a single interface.
Top
Academic Search Complete
CONNECT Articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals for the humanities, social sciences, physical and biological sciences, engineering, business and interdisciplinary fields, with over 5,500 full-text periodicals. Also includes indexing for some newspapers, books and primary sources. Coverage: 1887 - present.
Academic Universe. See: LexisNexis Academic
ACM Digital Library
CONNECT A searchable index to Association for Computing Machinery articles and conference proceedings, and selected affiliated organizations, with links to the full-text articles and conference papers. Coverage: 1954 - present for Journals and Magazines, 1985 - present for Proceedings.
ADS (Astrophysics Data System)
CONNECT The NASA Astrophysics Data System Abstract Service, indexes articles in astronomy, astrophysics, instrumentation, geophysics and physics. Often links to actual article or preprint. Coverage: 1975 - present.
Agricola
CONNECT Worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature. Coverage: 1970 - present.
AIAA Meeting Papers Database
CONNECT AIAA meeting papers contain the most recent discoveries in aerospace and related fields. Coverage: 1963 - present.
Alloy Phase Diagram Center Online
CONNECT GUIDE The ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center allows users to explore, search and view more than 11,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 2400 systems.
Aluminium Industry Abstracts
CONNECT GUIDE Provides comprehensive coverage of the world's technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments. Coverage: 1972 - present.
American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Technical Library
CONNECT Fully searchable and browsable technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Includes:
Publication Online Print Holdings
ASAE Standards: Current S671.A41 — Current edition at PSE Ref. previous at NRLF.
Applied Engineering in Agriculture: 1997-present S671.A37 — PSE v.2(1986)-current
Transactions of the ASAE: 1997-present S671.A5 — Shields 1907-1935; 1958-1962.; PSE 1963-current
Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health: 1995-present S565.J65 — Shields v.1(1995)-current
Annual Meeting Papers: 2001-present S675.A516 mf11[microfiche] — PSE 1968-2000.
American Society of Civil Engineers: Civil Engineering Database (CEDB)
CONNECT The CEDB provides access to over 97,000 records of ASCE publications, including journals, proceedings, and standards. Coverage: January 1972 - present, full-text for journals 1997 - present.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
CONNECT GUIDE Includes information on the science, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms. Database consists of the following subfiles: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources; ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts; and ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts.
ArticleFirst
CONNECT Provides citations from the table of contents of over 16,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, humanities, trade publications, and popular literature. Coverage: 1990 - present.
ASM Handbooks Online
CONNECT Contains all the data in the 21 volumes of the ASM Handbook, as well as the 2 ASM desk editions: Engineered Materials Handbook and Metals Handbook. The set is a well-known source of information on metals and materials technology. The data includes articles, tables, and graphs on materials properties, processes, performance and selection. Together, these volumes provide an enormous amount of practical information and data about the selection, processing, performance, and analysis of structural materials. Until 1992, the series title was Metals Handbook. Under the new title, ASM Handbook, the coverage has been broadened to include coverage of nonmetallic structural materials including plastics, ceramics, and composites.
Associations Unlimited
CONNECT Encyclopedia of Associations contain complete contact information and detailed data on the membership, budget, purpose, activities, services, organizational structure, affiliates, publications, and convention/meeting activities for each association.
Astrophysics Data System. See: ADS (Astrophysics Data system)
Top
Bacteriology Abstracts
CONNECT GUIDE Covers topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals. Provides access to clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics. Coverage: 1982 - present.
Beilstein. See: CrossFire Beilstein/Gmelin Database.
BIOSIS [New ISI Interface]
CONNECT Contains citations to items in over 6,000 journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports, in all areas of the life sciences and biology, including bioengineering and biotechnology. Many citations include abstracts. Coverage: 1969 - present.
Biotechnology Research Abstracts
CONNECT GUIDE Provides citations to international research on all aspects of biochemical, medical, and microbial technology as applied to bioengineering, medicine, agriculture and environmental science. Coverage: 1980 - present
Books In Print
Subscription has been replaced by Global Books in Print.
Britannica Online
CONNECT Web access to all the articles from the Encyclopædia Britannica, plus thousands of additional articles, links to tens of thousands of related Web sites, selected by Britannica's editors.
Business Source Premiere
CONNECT Provides full text for more than 7,400 scholarly business journals and other sources, including peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes all subject areas related to business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, marketing and more. Coverage: varies by title with some going as far back as 1886.
Top
CAB Abstracts (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureau)
CONNECT Covers agriculture, forestry, human health, management of natural resources, and sustainable development, with particular attention to the needs of developing countries. Coverage: 1910 - present.
Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramic Abstracts
CONNECT GUIDE A comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics. Coverage: 1975 - present.
CHEMBANK
Resources formerly available through CHEMBANK are now available via MICROMEDEX. Select ChemKnowledge from menu.
Chemical Abstracts via SciFinder Scholar
DOWNLOAD GUIDE The most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 21 million citations and indexes over 8,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder Scholar also allows searching of chemical substances and reactions.
SciFinder Scholar can only be used by UCD students, faculty and staff. It is available at: the Physical Sciences & Engineering Library (Reference Area only), Shields Library (Bio-Ag Reference Area only), campus computer labs, or from any computer with a UCD IP address by loading SciFinder Scholar's client software. Installation instructions, links to SciFinder Scholar's client software, user guides and additional information on access can be found at: http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/pse/resources/guides/scifinder.php. Questions regarding SciFinder Scholar should be directed to UCD's campus contact: Cory Craig, cjcraig@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-0347. Coverage: 1907 - present.
CHEMnetBASE
CONNECT Consists of a collection of searchable major chemical reference works:
CiteSeer
CONNECT A scientific literature digital library that aims to improve the dissemination and feedback of scientific literature. It indexes Postscript and PDF research articles on the Web primarily in the area of Computer Science/Engineering.
Compendex
CONNECT Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. About half the citations (from 2600 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing in the records. Coverage: 1884 - present.
Conference Papers Index
CONNECT GUIDE Major areas of coverage include agriculture, biochemistry, chemistry, chemical engineering, forestry, biology, environmental science, soil science, biotechnology, and clinical medicine. Coverage: 1982 - present.
Copper Data Center Database
CONNECT GUIDE Provides an online bibliographic database of the world's literature on copper, copper alloys and copper technology. Coverage: 1965 - present.
Corrosion Abstracts
CONNECT GUIDE Provides the world's most complete source of bibliographic information in the area of corrosion science and engineering. Coverage: 1980 - present.
CRCnetBASE
CONNECT Provides full-text access to a variety of handbooks, journals and reference sources across a wide variety of disciplines. Includes ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE among many others.
CrossFire Beilstein/Gmelin Database
DOWNLOAD GUIDE The database contains information on 6.5 million compounds and more than 10 million chemical reactions. With up to 350 chemical and physical data fields of critically evaluated data for each compound, Beilstein is the most complete collection of reactions, structures, properties, and references to the literature in organic chemistry.
The CrossFire Gmelin database contains all the structural, factual, and bibliographic data cited in the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry from 1772 to 1994. Contents include approximately 470,000 coordination compounds (45% of the database), 14,000 glasses and ceramics, 3,200 minerals, and 55,000 alloys.
Top
Dissertation Abstracts/Digital Dissertations & Theses
CONNECT The Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI) database is the authoritative source for finding doctoral dissertations and master's theses. It also provides access to the full-text of all dissertations from University of California campuses since 1997 (many issued in late 1996 are also available). General information about how to find/access UCD dissertations and theses is available at: http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/ul/libcoll/thesis.php. Coverage: 1861 - present.
DOE Information Bridge
CONNECT Full-text access to Department of Energy sponsored technical reports. Coverage: 1995 - present.
DOE PrePRINT Network
CONNECT The Department of Energy's PrePRINT Network is a searchable gateway to preprint servers that deal with scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE. Disciplines include physics, materials, and chemistry, as well as portions of biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine.
Top
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
CONNECT GUIDE EEA covers the world literature in earthquake engineering. Contents include selected technical reports,conference papers, monographs, and journal articles. Coverage: 1971 - present.
Ecology Abstracts
CONNECT GUIDE Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment. Coverage: 1982 - present.
ECOTOX
CONNECT Provides single chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life which is useful for examining impacts of chemicals on the environment. Peer-reviewed literature is the primary source for the database including information on the species, chemical, test methods, and results. Another source of test results is independently compiled data files (such as the Pesticide Ecotoxicity database) provided by various United States and International government agencies. ECOTOX is a unified interface providing access to three U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) ecological effects databases: AQUIRE (all aquatic species including freshwater and marine); TERRETOX (terrestrial animal mainly wildlife); and PHYTOTOX (terrestrial plant). Coverage: 1972 - present.
Ei Compendex
CONNECT Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. About half the citations (from 2600 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing in the records. Coverage: 1884 - present.
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements
CONNECT GUIDE Extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts. Coverage: Full-text: 2003-present; Digests: 1985-present.
Encylopædia Britannica Online
CONNECT Web access to all the articles from the Encyclopædia Britannica, plus thousands of additional articles, links to tens of thousands of related Web sites, selected by Britannica's editors.
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (e-EROS)
CONNECT The Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis, e-EROS, provides updated information on approximately 3,800 reagents with a database of close to 50,000 reactions. Each reagent entry includes properties such as physical data, solubility, form supplied in, purification, and preparative methods; examples of use in reactions; and literature references. Search options include: name, CAS number, structure and reaction.
Energy Citations Database
CONNECT Energy Citations Database (ECD) contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research and Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Coverage: 1948 - present.
Engineered Materials Abstracts (EMA)
CONNECT GUIDE Search for information regarding the research, manufacturing practices, properties and applications of polymers, ceramics, and composites in a variety of structural and other advanced applications. Coverage: 1986 - present.
Environmental Engineering Abstracts
CONNECT GUIDE Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. Coverage: 1990 - present.
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
CONNECT GUIDE Major areas of coverage include aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology & engineering, environmental impact statements, hazardous waste, industrial hygiene, microbiology, and risk assessment. Databases and coverage include:
ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality: 1990-present
Biotechnology Research Abstracts: 1980-present
Ecology Abstracts: 1982-present
Environmental Engineering Abstracts: 1990-present
Health and Safety Science Abstracts: 1981-present
Human Population & Natural Resource Management: 1995-present
Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A): 1982-present
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B): 1982-present
Pollution Abstracts: 1981-present
Risk Abstracts: 1990-present
Sustainability Science Abstracts: 2003-present
Toxicology Abstracts: 1981-present
Water Resources Abstracts: 1967-present
EPA Publications Search
CONNECT Search the Environmental Protection Agency Web site or search the EPA National Catalog for EPA technical publications and reports.
ETDEWEB (Energy Technology Data Exchange World Energy Base)
CONNECT Contains bibliographic references and abstracts to journal articles, reports, conference papers, books and theses from ETDE member countries. Subject areas include the environmental aspects of energy production and use and energy policy and planning, as well as the basic sciences that support energy research and development. In addition, the database contains information in the nuclear, coal, and global climate change areas. This broader coverage comes through alliances with the International Atomic Energy Agency's International Nuclear Information System (INIS) and IEA Coal Research - The Clean Coal Centre. The growing collection of over 1,021,100 bibliographic records includes more than 4.4 million downloadable full text pages from 95,400 documents. Coverage: 1995 - present.
Expanded Academic ASAP
CONNECT Articles (many full-text) from popular magazines, general interest journals, and scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and general sciences, plus legal, business, and health journals. Coverage: 1980 - present.
Top
Food Science and Technology Abstracts
CONNECT Comprehensive coverage of food sciences, products and processing including the relevant basic sciences, economics and legislation. Coverage: 1969 - present.
Top
Geophysics of North America on CD-ROM [No Internet Access]
Contains physical and marine data gathered from scientists and professional societies around the world. Displayable data fields include topographic,lithospheric, gravity, and radiometric satellite data. The disc also includes software which allows users to view the data in a variety of formats, including plots of data overlayed on geographical features. Location: 1st Floor, Physical Sciences & Engineering Library, Workstation Strange.
GeoRef
CONNECT GUIDE Covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics. Coverage: 1785 - present (Geology of North America), 1933 - present (Geology outside of North America). Newly added records not yet available in GeoRef can be found in the GeoRef In Process database.
Global Books in Print
CONNECT The leading international bibliographic database with over 6.5 million English-language titles from the U.S., Canada, U.K., Australia and New Zealand; 165,000 records on publishers, distributors, wholesalers and book agents; information on award winners, bestsellers; and over 500,000 full-text reviews. It is comprised of Bowker's Books In Print database of titles available in the U.S. and Canada and Whitaker's British Books In Print database of titles available in the U.K.
Gmelin. See: CrossFire Beilstein/Gmelin Database.
Top
HARVEST: UC Davis Library Catalog
CONNECT The catalog for UCD library materials (excluding Law and departmental libraries). Features include: books and journals in one catalog, current receipts of journals, call number searching and limiting by location.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts
CONNECT GUIDE Provides the latest perspectives on topics of widespread concern such as aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical safety occupational safety, and ergonomics. Coverage: 1981 - present.
History of Science, Technology, & Medicine
CONNECT Subjects covered include chemistry, construction, energy, engineering, geology, mathematics, physics, and transport engineering. Coverage: 1976 - present.
Household Products Database
CONNECT Provides information on many common household products which includes: a listing of chemical ingredients (with CAS number), health effects, handling, disposal, and manufacturer (with contact information). Can be searched by: brand name, chemical name, health effects, type of product, manufacturer, product category or alphabetical list of products.
Human Population & Natural Resource Management
CONNECT GUIDE Explores human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. Coverage includes relevant papers, reports, books and reviews from standard peer-reviewed scientific journals and material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find gray literature.
Top
IEEE Xplore
CONNECT GUIDE Provides access to full-text IEEE transactions, journals, conference proceedings, and standards and IEE/IET journals and conferences. Offers basic, advanced, author and table of contents searching. Coverage: 1988 - present, select journals 1950 - present.
Industrial and Applied Microbiology
CONNECT GUIDE Covers significant findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries. Coverage: 1982- present.
INFOMINE
CONNECT GUIDE Infomine is a virtual library and reference tool containing highly useful Internet/Web resources including databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, listservs, online library card catalogs, articles and directories of researchers.
INIS Online Database
CONNECT GUIDE The International Nuclear Information System (INIS) is the leading information source for scientific and technical literature published worldwide on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. The INIS Database currently contains over 2.7 million references with many available in full-text. The Database is updated weekly. Coverage: 1970 - present, with some references dating back to the 1930s
INSPEC
CONNECT GUIDE Citations from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Coverage: 1898 - present.
Top
LexisNexis Academic
CONNECT Provides full-text and abstracts of comprehensive news, business, and legal information.
Top
Materials Business File
CONNECT GUIDE Focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries. Coverage: 1985 - present.
Materials Research Database with METADEX
CONNECT GUIDE Search the leading materials science databases for information on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. Contains:
Aluminium Industry Abstracts: 1972-present
Ceramic Abstracts / World Ceramics Abstracts: 1975-present
Copper Data Center Database: 1965-present
Corrosion Abstracts: 1980-present
Engineered Materials Abstracts: 1986-present
Materials Business File: 1985-present
METADEX: 1966-present
WELDASEARCH: 1967-present
Mathematics Preprints
CONNECT From the UC Davis Mathematics Department. Coverage: July 1998 - present.
MathSciNet
CONNECT MathSciNet contains information from the American Mathematical Societies printed publications Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Coverage: 1940 - present.
Mechanical Engineering Abstracts
CONNECT GUIDE Summarizes the worldwide literature in mechanical engineering, engineering management, and production engineering. Coverage: 1981 - 2002.
Melvyl Catalog
CONNECT GUIDE Contains records for materials (books, journals, movies, maps, music scores and recordings, computer files, dissertations, government documents, etc.) held by the libraries of the nine UC campuses, Hastings College of the Law, the California Academy of Sciences, the California Historical Society, the Center for Research Libraries, the Graduate Theological Union, and the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.
Merk Index
CONNECT GUIDE An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biological substances. The Merck Index contains over 11,000 entries (referred to as monographs) mostly for single substances and related compounds (isomers, salts, etc.). Some families of natural products and biological substances are included as well. Data provided include: chemical, generic, and brand names; CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry numbers; physical data and literature references; structures and stereochemistry; toxicity; and information on therapeutic and non-medicinal uses.
The Merck Index Online also includes sections on: organic name reactions, and additional tables. The Merck Index can be searched by structure with installation of a free ChemDraw plug-in available on the structure search page.
METADEX
CONNECT GUIDE Search the most comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. Information from over 2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertaitions, government reports, conference proceedings, and books. Coverage: 1966 - present.
Metals Handbook. See: ASM Handbooks Online.
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts
CONNECT GUIDE Covers the areas of meteorology, hydrology, and physical oceanography, including topics such as climate change, atmospheric chemistry, and weather analysis and prediction. Coverage: 1974-present.
MICROMEDEX
CONNECT Includes information (some full-text) on thousands of potentially hazardous chemicals. Among the databanks available via the ChemKnowledge link are:
  • Integrated Risk Information System
  • Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances
  • Hazardous Substances Data Bank
  • Oil and Hazardous Material Technical Assistance Data
  • Chemical Hazard Response Information System
MicroPatent Materials Patents
CONNECT GUIDE Database provides monthly updates of US, European (EP) and Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) patents related to the area of materials. Coverage: 1996 - present.
MySearchSpace
CONNECT Searches Harvest: UC Davis Library Catalog, Melvyl Catalog and a number of article databases using a single interface.
Top
NASA Technical Reports Server
CONNECT Search NASA reports, NACA documents and selected non-NASA archives in the fields of aeronautics, space science, chemistry and materials, engineering, geosciences, life sciences, mathematics and computer sciences, and physics. Coverage: NACA Documents 1917 - present.
National Technical Information Service
CONNECT GUIDE The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) is the central source for the public sale of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports. Coverage: 1964 - present.
Top
Oceanic Abstracts
CONNECT GUIDE Oceanic Abstracts organizes, summaries, and indexes worldwide technical literature on the marine and brackish water environments. Oceanic Abstracts covers marine biology and biological oceanography, physical and chemical oceanography, meteorology, geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, conservation, environmental protection, fisheries, aquaculture, nonliving resources and technology, ships and shipping, navigation and communications. Coverage: 1981 - present.
Optics InfoBase
CONNECT A searchable index to Optical Society of America (OSA) articles and conference proceedings with links to full text.
Top
PapersFirst
CONNECT Papers included in every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at The British Library. Coverage: Oct. 1993 - present.
Patents
CONNECT Information on patents and patent databases.
Phase Equilibria Diagrams Database [No Internet Access]
The software permits searches for diagrams by chemical system, author, or year of publication. The database includes all diagrams from Volumes 1-10, annual volumes for 1991-93, and Phase Equilibria Diagrams (PED) for High-Tc Superconductors in the PED series. Location: Physical Sciences & Engineering Circulation Desk. Call number QD501.P46 1998
Pollution Abstracts
CONNECT GUIDE Pollution Abstracts combines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource. Topics of growing concern are extensively covered from the standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues. Coverage: 1981 - present.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations & Theses
CONNECT The Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI) database is the authoritative source for finding doctoral dissertations and master's theses. It also provides access to the full-text of all dissertations from University of California campuses since 1997 (many issued in late 1996 are also available). General information about how to find/access UCD dissertations and theses is available at: http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/ul/libcoll/thesis.php. Coverage: 1861 - present.
PubMed
CONNECT GUIDE PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
Top
Regional Business News
CONNECT Provides full text coverage for regional business publications and incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Risk Abstracts
CONNECT GUIDE Encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk. Coverage: 1990 - present.
Top
Safari Tech Books Online
CONNECT A collection of computing books that includes the full text of over 300 O'Reilly Press books dating from 2004 to the present. Safari will grow to include all new O'Reilly titles, including the popular In a Nutshell books on important computing topics. The full-text is searchable across titles and searches can be limited to code fragments. Books can also be browsed by topic. Books can be read online, or individual chapter sections can be printed out or emailed. Access is limited to 28 simultaneous UC connections. Coverage: 2004-present. (Available to UCD only.)
Science Citation Index
CONNECT GUIDE Search this databases for articles that cite a known author or work. Coverage: 1900 - present.
Science of Synthesis - Compatible with both PC's and Mac OS-X (as of 11/06). Pop-up blockers must be disabled to use Science of Synthesis.
CONNECT GUIDE Science of Synthesis provides an authoritative review of synthetic methods from the early 1800s to the present, for the field of organic and organometallic chemistry. Each method is evaluated and includes full experimental details. Source literature includes all published journal articles, books, and patent literature. Science of Synthesis is full-text, structure, and reaction searchable. A plug-in may be required for structure searching; chemical drawing packages can be used. The database also provides links to the primary literature and to related information in the Houben-Weyl electronic archive. (All 4 editions, and the supplemental "E-series" volumes, of the Houben-Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformations are included in Science of Synthesis.)
Coverage: 1800s to present. Science of Synthesis will be published in a total of 49 volumes between 2000 and 2008. As of 8/05, 19 volumes were available. When complete, Science of Synthesis will cover an estimated 38,000 methods, 11,000 variations, 24,000 reaction schemes, and 240,000 reactions. See Publication Schedule for more information.
Science.gov
CONNECT A gateway to selected science information Web sites and databases provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
Chemical Abstracts via SciFinder Scholar
DOWNLOAD GUIDE The most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 21 million citations and indexes over 8,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder Scholar also allows searching of chemical substances and reactions.
SciFinder Scholar can only be used by UCD students, faculty and staff. It is available at: the Physical Sciences & Engineering Library (Reference Area only), Shields Library (Bio-Ag Reference Area only), campus computer labs, or from any computer with a UCD IP address by loading SciFinder Scholar's client software. Installation instructions, links to SciFinder Scholar's client software, user guides and additional information on access can be found at: http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/pse/resources/guides/scifinder.php. Questions regarding SciFinder Scholar should be directed to UCD's campus contact: Cory Craig, cjcraig@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-0347. Coverage: 1907 - present.
Society of Automotive Engineers Digital Library [Only works with IE 5.x or Netscape 6.1 and above]
CONNECT SAE is a database of technical papers, magazine and journal articles, books, reports, and standards published by the Society of Automotive Engineers. Coverage: 1906 - present, full-text for Technical Papers 1998 - present.
SPIE Digital Library
CONNECT A comprehensive, online tool for locating papers on optics, photonics, optoelectronics, and imaging. Subject coverage is broad across optical technology, including astronomy, aerospace, remote sensing, biomedical optics, communications & fiber optics, electronic & medical imaging, lasers, microelectronics & micromachining, nanotechnology, optical physics, chemistry & biology, and signal & image processing. About 15,000 papers are added annually. The SPIE Digital library provides access to the papers published in:
Proceedings of SPIE: 1990-present, v.1200-
Optical Engineering: 1990-present, v.29-
Journal of Electronic Imaging: 1992-present, v.1-
Journal of Biomedical Optics: 1996-present, v.1-
Journal of Microlithography, MEMS, and MOEMS: 2002-present, v.1-
Journal of Applied Remote Sensing: 2007-present, v.1-
Journal of Nanophotonics: 2007-present, v.1-
Standards and Specifications
CONNECT Quick overview of Standards and Specifications available at PSE. Also links to Standards databases.
Top
Technical Reports
CONNECT Information on Technical Report Collections in the Government Information and Maps Department, Shields Library. Also includes links to full text technical reports and technical report databases.
Toxicology Abstracts
CONNECT GUIDE Covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. Coverage: 1981 - present.
TOXLINE
CONNECT GUIDE Offers rapid access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Coverage: 1994 - present.
TOXNET (Toxicology Data Network)
CONNECT A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. Includes: Hazardous Substances Data Bank, Integrated Risk Information System, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, GENE-TOX, TOXLINE, Toxics Release Inventory, CHEMIDplus among others.
Transport
CONNECT Funding for the TRANSPORT Index was provided by the Corporate Affiliates of the UC Davis Institute of Transportation Studies.
TRANSPORT is a bibliographic database of transportation research and economic information. It is produced by the 25-nation Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), headquartered in Paris, together with the United States' Transportation Research Board (TRB) and the 31 nations of the European Conference of Ministers of Transport (ECMT).
TRANSPORT combines the following databases:
  • Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) from TRB includes 300,000 bibliographic citations, most with abstracts, of research information on all surface transportation modes, air transport, and highway safety.
  • International Road Research Documentation (IRRD) from OECD contains 200,000 abstracts on highway research provided by OECD member countries.
  • TRANSDOC from ECMT contains 37,000 abstracts of transportation economics literature as well as bibliographic records provided by the International Union of Railways (UIC).
TranStats
CONNECT A website for transportation researchers and analysts, aimed at providing a broad collection of intermodal transportation data collected by various agencies within the U.S. Department of Transportation or by other federal agencies.
TRIS Online
CONNECT The Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database is the world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation information. TRIS is produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board (TRB) at the National Academies of Sciences. TRIS contains almost a half million records of published and ongoing research on all modes and disciplines in the field of transportation. Each year over 20,000 new records are added to TRIS. Unlike the TRANSPORT database, TRIS Online does not contain records for IRRD nor TRANSDOC publications. Coverage: 1960s - present.
Top
Ulrich's International Periodicals
CONNECT The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world.
Top
Water Resources Abstracts
CONNECT GUIDE Includes abstracts of current and earlier journal articles, monographs, reports, and other publication formats covering the development, management and research of water resources. Coverage: 1967 - present.
Web Of Science (via Web of Knowledge)
CONNECT GUIDE Provides article and citation searching in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Web of Science online indexing includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Coverage: 1900 - present.
Weldasearch
CONNECT GUIDE A comprehensive database containing abstracts to journal articles, research reports, books, standards, patents, theses and special publications in the areas of joining metals, plastics and ceramics, metal and ceramic spraying, thermal cutting, brazing, soldering and related topics. Coverage: 1967 - present.
WorldCat
CONNECT WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog. It contains over 27 million records in all disciplines from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide. Dates covered are from 1000 A.D. to the present. Because of its size, you may retrieve hundreds of records for your searches. For smaller result sets, you may want to search the MELVYL Catalog first.
Top
Zoological Record Plus
CONNECT GUIDE Offers comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy and zoogeography. Coverage: 1864 - present.
Top