Physical Sciences & Engineering Library
PSE Library Assignments
This page lists some recurring course assignments which require the use of resources found at the Physical Sciences & Engineering (PSE) Library. It is intended to provide suggestions on where to look for information, especially when the PSE reference desk is closed.
This page is NOT a complete list of assignments from all departments.
Chemistry 10: Term Paper Assignment
(Last Assigned: Fall 2003)
To find ARTICLES, use the PSE Database list connect to these databases:
- Expanded Academic
To find information on CHEMICAL SUBSTANCES, use the PSE Chemistry Subject Guide to connect to these databases:
- ChemNetBase
- ChemFinder
For additional resources, see the: Chemistry Subject Guide
Geology 1: Volcano Writing Assignment
(Last Assigned: Spring 2004)
See the Volcano Section of the Geology Subject Guide.
This indicates which databases to search for articles on volcanoes, and also lists reference books and websites that deal with volcanoes.
For additional resources, see the: Geology Subject Guide
Geology 1: What's In The Water? Writing Assignment
(Last Assigned: Spring 2005)
To find ARTICLES, use the PSE Database list to connect to these databases:
- Expanded Academic
- GeoRef
- Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
- BIOSIS
For additional resources, see the: Geology Subject Guide
Geology 36: The Solar System
Term Paper Instructions and Suggested Topic List
To find information on planets, use the "Planets: fact sheets on each planet" link listed under web sites on the PSE Astronomy and Astrophysics Subject Guide
To find ARTICLES, use the PSE Database list to connect to these databases:
- Expanded Academic
- GeoRef
For additional resources, see the: Astronomy and Astrophysics Subject Guide
Introduction to Biomedical Engineering (BIM-001): Find a journal article assignment
(Last Assigned: Fall 2005)
See the BIM-001: How To Find A Journal Article page done for this class.
For additional resources, see the: Biomedical Engineering Subject Guide
Need More Help?
The easiest way to get help is to go to the PSE Library Reference Desk. The librarian working there will be happy to show you how to search a database, or find a journal, or answer any other questions you have. See the PSE Reference Desk Schedule for hours.

